Blackburn Vikings


Robbo and Dre Steal the Day

The Annual Blackburn Vikings Senior Presentation Night was once again held at the Manningham Function Centre in Doncaster on September 23.

The night reflected on our Big V Program and for the very first time included our Under 20 Representative Men and Women. 2017 was a highly successful year for our senior program with our Division 1 Men, Division 2 Women both making finals and our Youth League Women and Under 20-1 Women making grand finals in Youth League 2 and Under 20 VC respectively.

In addition to the senior awards, the BVBA inducted its second ever class of life members. The 2017 life member class included 12 inductees of both past and present contributors who have helped put the club in the strong position it is in today.

Jack Roberts and Andrea ‘Dre’ Belmonte, stole the show winning not one, but two Most Valuable Player Awards. Roberts shared the Victorian Youth Championship Men Most Valuable Player with Tommy Williams, and the as well as the Most Valuable Player of the Division 1 Men with Brendan Trewella while Belmonte was Most Valuable Player of both the Under 20-1 Women and the Division 2 Women.

The club would also like to acknowledge both Tina Colangelo and Tony James who took out the Norm Young and Tony Arthur Awards respectively for their contributions made to the club over the past 12 months.

A full list of award winners can be found below.

Life Memberships
Scott Nicey – Coach
John Armitage – Player
Melissa McCormack-Rees – Player
Damien Di Cosmo – Player/Coach/Contributor
Jon Moore – Coach
Ross Borthwick – Coach/Committee
Dave Zennaro – Coach/Committee
Cameron Tomecek – Player/Coach
Brian Rossetti – Coach/Committee
Kevin Cartledge – Coach
Adam Holden – Coach
Kim Round - Contributor

Under 20-1 Women
Most Valuable Player – Andrea Belmonte
Most Determined Player – Bella Renton

Under 20-2 Women
Most Valuable Player – Mia Smith
Best Team Player – Natasha Dun

Youth League Women
Most Valuable Player – Bethanie Gray
Players’ Player – Sarah Boras
Coach’s Award – Amy Coen

Division 2 Women
Most Valuable Player – Andrea Belmonte
Players’ Player – Aimee Page
Coach’s Award – Megan Shanahan

Under 20-1 Boys
Most Valuable Player – Liam Lovemore
Most Valuable Player – Sam Rentsch

Under 20-2 Men
Most Valuable Player – Zac Drysdale
Anyang Arou – Coach’s Award

Youth League Men
Most Valuable Player – Jack Roberts
Most Valuable Player – Tommy Williams
Coach’s Award – Conrad Cooper

Division 1 Men
Most Valuable Player – Jack Roberts
Most Valuable Player – Brendan Trewella
Coach’s Award – Neal Haining

Tony Arthur Award – Tony James
Norm Young Award – Tina Colangelo

Photos courtesy of Simon Trewella

Julie Mackinnon