Blackburn Vikings


Blackburn Celebrates Big V Awards for 2018

The Blackburn Vikings capped off a stellar on court year with their Big V Presentation Night held at Mullum Mullum Stadium on Saturday, September 15, 2018.

Each team had a total of three award winners each, which were decided by the coaches, and in some cases the players and league voting.

It was a case of déjà vu from 2017 with Andrea Belmonte and Brendan Trewella going back-to-back to clench the Most Valuable Player Awards for Women’s and Men’s programs respectively for the second year in a row. Andrea also took out the Player’s Player Award as a recognition by her peers.

In addition to the senior awards, the club also honoured two contributors who have gone above and beyond in their contributions. Shaun Coghlan was named the Tony Arthur Award Winner for the person not on the committee who has worked tirelessly to better the club, whilst Dora Karas was named the Norm Young Award Winner for her work as the club secretary, work with the domestic committee, team managing and assistance with uniforms.

The club also presented Craig Walker an award for his years of service as the MC of the Blackburn Vikings Big V Program.

The full list of Blackburn Vikings award winners can be found here:

Youth League 2 Women
Most Valuable Player – Bella Nolen
Player’s Player Award – Rebecca Cunningham
Coach’s Award – Maggie McCarthy

Division 2 Women
Most Valuable Player – Andrea Belmonte 
Player’s Player Award – Andrea Belmonte
Coach’s Award Victoria Sumskas 

Victorian Youth Championship Men
Most Valuable Player – Tommy Williams
Runner-up Most Valuable Player – Bul Niop
Most Improved Player – Sam Porteous

State Championship Men
Most Valuable Player – Brendan Trewella
Coach’s Award – James Malvaso
Most Improved Player – John Creighton

Club Awards
Shaun Coghlan – Tony Arthur Award
Dora Karas – Norm Young Award

Julie Mackinnon